About AMD


The Association of Migraine Disorders (AMD) strives to expand the understanding of migraine by supporting research, education and awareness.

A Message from our founder

Frederick Godley, M.D., F.A.C.S.As an otolaryngologist immersed in the migraine space, I am often faced with questions like, "Why is an ENT doc interested in a neurological disorder?". Believe it or not, my passion for this complex disease stems from observations of my own patients presenting with symptoms of sinusitis that were resistant to traditional treatments. It took me time to open my mind to the concept that this is a neurological problem. The idea that a headache disorder could be mistaken as a sinus infection seemed improbable and at odds with the views of respected clinicians and trusted textbooks. Nonetheless, there had to be a reason other than infection for people to feel sinus pain and pressure with a stuffy and runny nose.

Over time I have learned a lot about how we judge our well-being on what the various parts of our nervous system (hearing, balance, vision, smell, taste and touch) tell us. And when that sensory system is not working properly, both patients and clinicians can be easily fooled. When I finally learned enough to treat my patients safely for their migraine disorders and observed their' improved health and lifestyle, I committed myself to raising awareness, helping other clinicians learn to manage their patients and better understanding the many symptoms of migraine through research.              

As an independent voice in migraine healthcare, our organization has a belief that migraine needs to engage and connect various medical specialties. Through professional collaborations, listening to the patient community and disseminating information, we hope to contribute to the reshaping of how migraine is understood, studied, and managed as a complex disease.

What We Do

Untitled design (6)


AMD is proud to be a source of funding for investigators who are committed to advancing migraine research. AMD’s research efforts are led by a team of world-renowned experts who identify knowledge gaps to influence future projects. AMD also strives to form a multi-disciplinary network of researchers and medical professionals through the Migraine Science Collaborative.


AMD is dedicated to being a trusted and comprehensive source for people living with migraine and clinicians who diagnose and treat people with migraine. AMD publishes educational material through videos, blogs, printed materials and so much more. AMD covers all areas of migraine from diagnosis to treatment. AMD is a leader in providing educational content on varied migraine symptoms and comorbidities.
collage - photo contest (4)


In 2017, AMD founded the globally-recognized, wildly popular Shades for Migraine campaign. What started out as a simple social media challenge catapulted into one of the world's largest interactive migraine awareness movements. Each June, thousands of people use #ShadesForMigraine, making migraine become a viral topic. The campaign has made purple sunglasses synonymous with migraine awareness.

Executive Board

Frederick Godley, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Rick Godley, MD


Michael Teixido, M.D.

Michael Teixido, MD

Vice President

Deena Kuruvilla, MD

Deena Kuruvilla, MD


Leigh Serth

Leigh Serth


Shivang G. Joshi, MD

Shivang Joshi, MD, RPh

Mark E. Mehle, MD

Mark E. Mehle, MD

Registry (1)

Jennifer Robblee, M.D., M.Sc., FRCPC


Abigail Chua, DO

 AMD Staff

Frederick Godley, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Rick Godley, MD


Alicia Torborg

Alicia Torborg

Executive Director

Leigh Serth

Leigh Serth

Director of Operations

Donna Parks-Tamburro

Donna Parks- Tamburro

Office Manager

Monica Mallampalli

Monica Mallampalli, PhD

Sr. Scientific Advisor

Kylie 2021 5

Kylie Petrarca, RN, BSN

Associate Program Director

Untitled design (8)

Neil Andrews

MSC Executive Editor

Untitled design (3)

Ashley Swift

Marketing Manager

Melissa Calise

Melissa Calise


Molly O'Brien

Molly O'Brien

Public Relations Coordinator

OUR Sponsors

The Association of Migraine Disorders is grateful for the support of its sponsors, but it does not endorse their products and services.

If you are interested in sponsoring an AMD program or initiative, please email alicia@migrainedisorders.org